Author: Miranda Riwoe

A collection of superbly crafted stories that explore the inner lives of those who are often ignored or misunderstood.
We follow a migrant mother who yearns to feel welcomed at a kids’ party in a local park; a young skateboarder caught between showing loyalty and being accepted; and an Indonesian maid working far from home who longs for the son she’s left behind. Bookending this collection are two stunning novellas: Annah the Javanese re-imagines the world of one of Paul Gauguin’s models in nineteenth-century Paris, while the highly acclaimed The Fish Girl reworks a classic W. Somerset Maugham story from the perspective of a young Indonesian woman.
With rich emotional insight and a light touch, these wide-ranging stories reveal hidden desires and human fragility.

About the author

Mirandi Riwoe is the author of Stone Sky Gold Mountain, which won the 2020 Queensland Literary Award – Fiction Book Award and the inaugural ARA Historical Novel Prize, and was shortlisted for the 2021 Stella Prize and longlisted for the 2021 Miles Franklin Literary Award, and the short story collection The Burnished Sun. Her work has appeared in Best Australian Stories, Meanjin, Review of Australian Fiction, Griffith Review and Best Summer Stories.

The Burnished Sun
Mirandi Riwoe
First published by UQP
Reproduced by permission of UQP

Intrigued to read the rest of the book? You can pre-order it here:…

This project is supported by the Copyright Agency’s Cultural Fund.