The Blake Poetry Prize 2021

Entries are now closed for the 2021 Blake Poetry Prize. The shortlist will be be announced on 4th February, 2022, with the winners announcement on Saturday 12th March.
This year we received 505 entries from right across Australia, and extending internationally to countries including New Zealand, United States, UK, Hong Kong, India, United Arab Emirates, Germany and Thailand. As the judging process gets underway we wish all entrants the very best. In such extraordinary times it is gratifying to witness the strength of the work engaging with our spiritual lives and evidence of the importance of such exploration.

The Blake Poetry Prize challenges Australian poets to explore the spiritual and religious in a new work of 100 lines or less.
From 2017  Casula Powerhouse Arts Centre in collaboration with WestWords,  has delivered The Blake Poetry Prize as a biennial event.
The Blake Prize is an open poetry prize that challenges poets, both national and international, in conversations concerning faith, spirituality, religion and/or belief.
The Blake Poetry Prize is an aesthetic means of exploring the wider experience of spirituality with the visionary imagining of contemporary poets. The Blake Prize takes its name from William Blake, a poet and artist of undoubted genius, who integrated religious and artistic content in his work. The Blake Poetry Prize challenges contemporary poets of disparate styles to explore the spiritual and religious in a new work of 100 lines or less.

The Blake Poetry Prize is strictly non-sectarian. The entries are not restricted to works related to any faith or any artistic style, but all poems entered must have a recognisable religious or spiritual integrity and demonstrate high degrees of artistic and conceptual proficiency.

The Blake Poetry Prize | $5,000 | Non-Acquisitive

To listen to the full shortlisted poems from the 2020 competition , read by the poets, click here

The 2021 judges:


Judith Nangala Crispin
Judith is a poet and visual artist of Bpangerang descent, and is currently poetry editor of The Canberra Times. Judith is also the author of two additional published collections of poems, The Myrrh-Bearers (Puncher & Wattmann, 2015), and The Lumen Seed (Daylight Books, 2017). She was the winner of the 2020 Blake Poetry Prize. To hear an interview with Judith and 2021 highly commended poet, Louise Carter, please click here.

Anthony Lawrence
Anthony  has published seventeen books of poems and a novel. His most recent collection is Ken (Life Before Man, 2021). His books and individual poems have won many awards, including The Blake Poetry Prize, The Prime Ministers Literary Award for Poetry, The Kenneth Slessor Poetry Award and the Judith Wright Calanthe Award. He is a Senior Lecturer at Griffith University, where he teaches Creative Writing.

Juan Garrido-Salgado
Juan Garrido-Salgado immigrated to Australia from Chile in 1990, fleeing the regime that burned his poetry and imprisoned and tortured him for his political activism. He has published eight books of poetry and his work has been widely translated. He has also translated works by a number of leading Australian & Aboriginal poets into Spanish, including five Aboriginal poets for the anthology Espejo de Tierra/ Earth Mirror (2008). With Steve Brock and Sergio Holas, Garrido-Salgado also translated into English the Trilingual Mapuche Poetry Anthology. The book When I was Clandestine was part of a poetical tour at the Granada International Poetry Festival in Nicaragua, Mexico and Cuba (La Habana City) in 2019. Hope Blossoming in Their Ink ( Puncher & Wattman) in 2020. Three of his poems were published at May 21.


The Blake Poetry Prize is presented in partnership with